In Egypt as SLAVES- is This Love??!!??

moses2_2

I am starting a QUEST to FIND God’s love in Bible stories!

My plan is this:

I will read both familiar and unfamiliar Bible passages INTENSELY focus on ONE THING- GOD’S LOVE!!!

My “love journey” begins with the book of Exodus.

PLEASE JOIN ME on this “LOVE QUEST”

__________________________________________________________________________________________

What I DISCOVERED on day 1 of MY QUEST:

As I began reading Exodus, I notice that God’s VERY children are SLAVES in a foeign land!!! THIS led me to a  burning question of God ……….WHY DID YOU ALLOW YOUR PEOPLE TO BE SLAVES IN EGYPT IN THE FIRST PLACE, GOD?????  Where you mad at them????  Having your children be SLAVES in a foreign land sure DOES NOT seem very loving to me!!!!     (Genesis 15:13)

Upon praying and researching I discovered something I had never realized – it was BECAUSE of God’s love that His people were taken out of Canaan and placed into Egypt!  God was protecting them! The promised land was not ready.  It was NOT safe! The Israelites need to be secluded in an area where they could stay pure, reproduce and grow in numbers..

Just like in our world today, not everyone who lived in a certain area was good.  God gave everyone free will to choose.  Some of the earliest people decided to go against God.  A large number of those people lived in the area of Canaan.  Canaan was the original name given to the land of Israel.  In Canaan lived some evil people who worshiped false Gods and did wrong in God’s sight.

The Israelites were outnumbered in Canaan.  Some of the evil men in the area were attracted to the Israelite women.  An Israelite woman was even raped by one ! God needed to get His people OUT of THERE until He could prepare the region and clear it from its tainted inhabitants.  God had a plan!  He had a predetermined date in mind of WHEN He would clear out the land for His children.

Until the “Promised Land” was ready, Egypt was the best choice for God’s children.  The Egyptians would not try to procreate with the Israelites.  Because the Israelites were mainly shepherds, the Egyptians looked down upon them. This was actually GOOD for God’s people. Since the Egyptians did not consider them their equals,  they wouldn’t be tempted to “lay” with them. The Lord’s army could GROW and stay Pure!

Connecting this to our lives:

When we are placed somewhere we do not want to be …..    (maybe in a job we do not like, or a situation we are not happy with)

we need to realize that maybe God has us there for a predetermined time for OUR own safety and GROWTH???!!!!

Maybe God’s next step for us isn’t ready yet.

Maybe we can GROW best where we are now.

God is not mad at us- He is protecting us!!!!

God LOVED the Israelites AND He LOVES US!!!!

What are your thoughts???

PLEASE SHARE your thoughts and ideas with me 🙂 🙂 🙂

10 thoughts on “In Egypt as SLAVES- is This Love??!!??

  1. I know God has a reason for sending me to Charlotte, Leslie, have no idea why but i am preparing myself for whatever it is by staying in His word!

    Like

    1. Chris, It is difficult when we don’t understand why were are placed in certain situations or places. Feeling “not in control” of our lives can be very scary. PLEASE keep me posted on how you are and what you experience in Charlotte! The great news is- GOD is ALREADY THERE waiting for you!!! Staying in His word is a GREAT plan! I am excited to hear the wonderful things God has to share with you in Charlotte!!! PLEASE continue to comment and share your story 🙂

      Like

  2. As you and your viewers study these stories, ask yourselves these questions regarding each cited passage of Scripture and record your answers in a notebook for this study: 1. What is the point or lesson to be drawn from this story? 2. How should I apply it to my life?

    Like

      1. Please note that such stories from the Bible are the primary content for much Christian children’s curriculum that is published for churches everywhere. And the annual festivals that were observed by the Israelites for centuries were the reminders of God’s special providential for their families from generation to generation. Such stories are easy for children to remember and everyone can learn from them.

        Like

      2. Bob, yes- I grew up hearing many such stories. As an adult, I find that I am still drawn to them. There is so much to learn by re-reading them often!! 🙂 🙂 I would LOVE to know more about the annual festivals. Those might be a focus of my studies in the near future. Do you know of any good websites I should visit or books I should read to learn more?? 🙂 🙂 🙂

        Like

      3. Leslie, I invite you to check out my website for some resources that might be helpful. It is “Christianity and what is good forever”, and you will find it here: http://www.christianityetc.org . I would also encourage you to study the book of Leviticus to learn about the annual festivals that God instructed Moses to establish with the Israelites. If you have further questions about this matter, let me know, and I’ll try to give you more help.

        Like

  3. Great post! I think everyone probably asks themselves this question.

    I have a few theories.

    1. Working hard and slaving away in a brutal desert climate made the Jews hard and strong. This prepared them for their upcoming battles to win Israel. I like to entertain the idea that the spies weren’t wrong in their description of what they had to overcome. There were actually large fortified cities before them. They were wrong in their doubt that they could overcome them with God’s assistance.

    #2. Why were they slaves for so long? I think it was to make it clear that there is no way to escape what must have seemed like to them like never ending persecution without God’s salvation. Moses tried to do it his own way at first. God wanted it to be clear that it wasn’t happening by Moses’s power, but from his and he allowed Moses to be exiled for years.

    Like

Leave a Reply

