Blueberry Scones

There is so much LOVE in cooking and baking.
Memories made IN THE KITCHEN are PRICELESS
Let’s  be intentional about FOCUSING on LOVE…….
To do this we need to do 2 things:
First, We must  LOOK for LOVE in our own lives
Second, we must  SHARE LOVE WITH OTHERS  🙂
As you read this recipe ask yourself these questions:
Who can I bake this recipe for?
and………… 
Who can I spread love to this week?
__________________________________________________________________________
I saw this on:  https://thewritingsofrachellynntaylor.wordpress.com/
I read it and immediately knew that I needed to ask if I could share it on our site.
 Rachel graciously agreed.
rachel
Here is Rachel’s LOVE story and recipe:
______________________________________________________________________________
 Scones2-thumb-600x800-2472
BLUEBERRY SCONES AND GRANDMA’S LOVE
 

Blueberry scones remind me of my grandmas. Still to this day my paternal grandmother makes the best homemade scones. Now even at 21 years old I still love them. In fact, when my little sister requested some for her birthday this year I was extremely jealous and upset that I hadn’t thought of it first. For days the delicious pastry sat on the kitchen counter, taunting me. I was actually relieved when my sister finally ate them all. Yes, it is certainly a very special treat when Grandma T’s blueberry scone appear at my home.

The best part is that it’s always a surprise. I’m never know for sure when Grandma is going to bake but when she does it is always the best sort of excitement. While all her baking is amazing blueberry scones are her best and my favorite.

Grandma Sharon, my maternal grandmother was an amazing woman. And although she is no longer with us, I think of her daily. This morning I stopped at a local Forza coffee shop to get my usual a grande, triple shot, nonfat, iced white chocolate mocha with a treat, a blueberry scone and as soon as they handed me the scone I was instantly taken back to being sixteen.

What should have been my junior year of high school I was enrolled in an alternative school that was held at a local technical college. Every morning Grandma Sharon would drive to school and on the way we would stop at the same coffee shop. While my coffee order has since changed their blueberry scones thankfully have not. While sipping on my white chocolate Frappuccino and eating my scone I would chat with my grandma about everything and anything.

Driving with either of my grandmas has always been special to me but in that moment with my coffee and pastry I was content and not anxious which was a rare moment for me at that age. That’s something both my grandmas have always had on me, a calming presence.

Scone ingredients:
2 cups of all-purpose flour
1 tablespoon of baking powder
1/2 a teaspoon of salt
2 tablespoons of sugar
5 tablespoons of unsalted butter, placed in freezer to chill, cut into chunks
1 cup of heavy cream, plus more for brushing on the scones
1 cup of fresh blueberries
Glaze:
2 cups of confectionery sugar
Add enough water to make glaze and drizzle over scones.
Directions:
Preheat oven to 400 degrees F
Sift together the dry ingredients: flour, baking powder, salt, and sugar. Using a pastry cutter cut the butter and coat the pieces with flour. The butter should look like coarse crumbs. Make a well and pour in the heavy cream. Fold everything together just to incorporate the blueberries; do not overwork the dough. It will be crumbly. Do not bruise or smash the blueberries
Place the dough onto floured plastic wrap, cover the dough, form a rectangle, and press into shape. Cut 1/2 then cut the pieces in 1/2 again, giving you 4(3 in.) squares. Cut the squares in half diagonally to get the traditional triangle shape. Plus the scones on an non-greased cookie sheet and brush with cream. Bake for 15 to 20 minutes until a beautiful, golden, brown.
Let the scones cool a bit before you drizzle on glaze on the scones.
Attachments area

Leave a Reply

